Super Simple Hummus Recipe

Simple Hummus Recipe

Okay, so I can’t really take credit for this one. My husband is actually the one who whipped this one up!

A little while back Sawyer loved garbanzo beans, LOVED them! He would shove them in his mouth one right after the other. Of course, soon after that came to a halt and he now refuses to eat them. He may try it at first but then spits it right out with a disgusted look. So I don’t know what happened but regardless, I had a few cans of chick peas lying around. My husband had the brilliant idea to make homemade hummus. Okay I am going to come clean and admit that since I’ve never even eaten hummus I didn’t even know that it was made primarily from chick peas!! Maybe I’m the only one but this was news to me! So I didn’t realize it was so easy to make homemade.

This is perfect because our son, like many one year olds I’m sure, won’t eat a whole lot of meat or protein. So this is perfect for a little extra protein. If it goes on a cracker, my son will eat it! Crackers are his absolute favorite!

How to make:

 

Super Simple Hummus:

1 Can Garbanzo beans

2 Tbsp olive oil

2 Tbsp Lemon Juice

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp salt

1/4 C water

Drain and rinse garbanzo beans. This next step isn’t necessary but to make it even creamier peel the garbanzo beans. Blend all ingredients in a food processor or blender.

Simple Hummus Recipe

Simple Hummus Recipe

I, myself am not a huge fan of the taste of chick peas so hummus really isn’t my favorite. Hummus is really good for you though so I did try to see if my son liked it and he eats it on crackers! Success!

Enjoy!

 

 

Whippersnappers

One comment

Leave a Reply

