Dr. Seuss – Cat in the Hat – 1st Birthday Party!

First Birthday Party

Oh what fun, Sawyer is one!! This is a bit overdue since he turned one on the 10th but I figure, better late than never!

We had a blast throwing Sawyer his very first birthday party! It was so much fun since both sides of grandparents could both come! With living so far away from everyone, that sure doesn’t happen very often! You could really tell that Sawyer was loving all of the attention, almost like he knew that the day was all about him. I knew that I wanted to do a Dr. Seuess – Cat in the Hat theme because he has so many of the books and loves the “Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About That” TV show. He grins and dances every time it comes on!

 

First Birthday Party

First Birthday Party

I was so excited to make all kinds of food and especially his very first cake! I decided to make him his own smash cake and then make cupcakes for everyone else! I even made “Green Eggs & Ham” by making the filling inside of deviled eggs green and making ham wrapped pickle rolls to go along with. My husband and I came up with some cute “Seusical” names for name tags for the food. We had things like:

Punchalafizzer (Punch)

Green Eggs & Ham

Oodles of Noodles (Pasta Salad)

Trufulla Trees (Veggies)

Barbaloot Fruits

And a few others too. It was fun and really brought out the kids in us! Well…that doesn’t really take a lot 😛

First Birthday Party

First Birthday Party

First Birthday Party

 

For the cupcakes I made Thing 1 & Thing 2 inspired cupcakes. The use of cotton candy for blue hair wasn’t really my own idea…I had seen this on Pinterest a few times! I made red velvet cake and a vanilla buttercream icing toped with blue cotton candy. Then glued on little circles to the paper but instead of saying Thing 1 & Thing 2 it said “Sawyer is 1.” Little tip, if you ever want to make cupcakes with cotton candy on top, make sure to put the cotton candy on shortly before serving. Luckily I did this so it worked out okay but after sitting for awhile the cotton candy kind of just dissolves into blue crystals on the cupcakes. This oddly enough worked out and gave it a nice texture anyway! I think it just depends on what the humidity is at and the fact that it is sitting in icing.

First Birthday Party

First Birthday Party

For Sawyer’s smash cake I made a white cake (Okay, I’ll admit it, I used boxed cake! But hey, I didn’t have a lot of time and to be honest, I think boxed cake tastes delicious!) iced with vanilla buttercream. For the buttercream I just used 1 C butter, powdered sugar, 2 tsp vanilla and milk. For the powdered sugar and milk I didn’t really measure. I just added until it all mixed together with a good taste and consistency. I made the Thing 1 & Thing 2 characters by melting white chocolate and adding color to it. The chocolate tends to harden back up a bit when you add food coloring so I added just a tiny bit of coconut oil and it melts it right back up really smooth. I had printed the characters out on paper and layed wax paper over top so that I could see the characters through it. Then I just piped the melted chocolate on the wax paper tracing the characters. I wasn’t sure if it would turn out or not but they ended up looking great!

First Birthday Party

The funniest part about the whole party was Sawyer eating his cake! We literally just sat and watched him for so long! We sang him Happy Birthday, blew out his candle and then gave him his cake. I kind of expected him to be a bit iffy about it because he doesn’t like getting gooey things all over his hands. But I mean c’mon, it’s CAKE! So I thought he’d be diving in at least a little! Nope, after nearly poking it he already has a completely disgusted look on his face! My husband goes and grabs a baby fork and to my amazement he actually uses it! He sits there and eats his cake with a fork! I love that little stinker so much!

First Birthday Party

First Birthday Party

First Birthday Party

First Birthday Party

 

Whippersnappers

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

