St. Patrick’s Day Food for Kids!

St. Patrick's Day Food

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!!

Sawyer and I have our green on today and it is the most beautiful day here! It’s 82 degrees and sunny out now so we are definitely going outside as soon as Sawyer is up from his nap! I absolutely love holidays! For many reasons, but for one I love to really get into it even when it comes to food! Having kids is the perfect excuse to go all out even more! So today for St. Patty’s Day we have already had a very fun and festive breakfast and lunch! This morning I made green Shamrock pancakes, which were a huge hit! Then for lunch we went all out green! Luckily, with green there are tons of healthy options! Making green yummy and desirable for kiddos is a whole other story! Check out what I did 🙂

 

Green Spinach Shamrock Pancakes

What? Spinach? I didn’t say spinach! Psst…don’t even mention the spinach part because you don’t even know it’s in there! I added quite a lot even and you could hardly tell!

 

 

Shamrock Pancakes

Shamrock Pancakes

How to make:

(I quartered a Bisquick recipe since I was only making pancakes for my 1 year old. This made 2 good sized pancakes for me).

-1/2 C Bisquick

-1/4 C milk

-1/2 tsp Baking Powder

-A few spinach leaves chopped real fine

-Green food coloring

Mix everything together thoroughly and pour onto a skillet over medium heat. I attempted to make shamrock shapes but wow, that is way harder than it looks! I’ve seen people make some real elaborate things with pancakes and I am now giving them more props than ever because I could hardly make a shamrock shape! No biggie…all tastes the same!

Yum! Like I said, a huge hit with my son! He was begging for more after every bite!

 

 

St. Patrick’s Day Lunch

Everything Green!! I knew that veggie macaroni and cheese would be perfect for today! Plus, my son gobbles it up every time!

St. Patrick's Day Food

St. Patrick's Day Food

 

Veggie Macaroni & Cheese:

-Elbow macaroni

-Veggie Puree ( I used broccoli/cauliflower/spinach puree. Find out how to make broccoli/cauliflower puree on my Homemade Baby Purees page.)

-Small amount of Velveeta cheese

-Avocado oil

Boil pasta per the package instructions. Drain and pour back into pot while still on a low heat. Add veggie puree, cheese and avocado oil. Let everything heat up while stirring until everything melts together. That’s it!

 

I also used peas, shamrock shaped kiwi slices, cucumber and crackers.

St. Patrick's Day Food

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

 

 

St. Patrick's Day Food

Whippersnappers

 

Leave a Reply

