SUPER BOWL! Chocolate – Beer Cupcakes

Chocolate-Beer Cupcakes

Yep, that’s right. Chocolate and beer…together! I must admit, my husband is much more of a beer fan than I am but since I was sending off most of these cupcakes with him to work I figured I better make something that a bunch of football fan guys would love! He said that these did not last AT ALL and that they were a huge hit.

I got the inspiration for these cupcakes on Rachel Ray’s website by Emily Wycoff. Click here to go to this original delicious recipe!

I did change a few things in the cupcake recipe but used the same filling recipe as she did. I then chose to make my own plain buttercream frosting versus the beer reduction frosting.

I decorated them in a football theme to get ready for the Super Bowl this weekend! Sorry to any Patriots fans but my husband is from the Seattle area and we are all definitely Seahawks fans! But I would be lying if I said I wasn’t just as excited to see Katy Perry and the commercials 😉 I topped the cupcakes with a chocolate covered potato chip. Come on, it doesn’t get much better than that. And if you have not tried a chocolate covered potato chip then you need to stop what you are doing and try it! Delicious! Or don’t, because then you may become like me (a sweet tooth) and get addicted to them. I also must add that I chose to use a beer that is brewed in Seattle. I thought that this was appropriate – Go Seahawks!

Chocolate-Beer Cupcakes

 

Chocolate-Beer Cupcakes

 

Chocolate-Beer Cupcakes

 

Chocolate-Beer Cupcakes

How I made them:

This made 14 cupcakes for me.

 

For the cupcakes:

-1 Cup IPA beer (I chose Red Hook: Long Hammer IPA)

-1 and 1/4 Cups flour

-1/2 Cup Cocoa powder

-1 tsp baking powder

-1 tsp baking soda

-1/2 tsp salt

-1/3 Cup butter at room temp.

-1 Cup Brown Sugar

-1 Egg

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Bring the 1 cup of beer to a simmer in a saucepan. Once it has reached a simmer take it off of the heat but leave it in the pan to keep it warm. In a separate medium bowl mix together all of the dry ingredients; flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Set this bowl aside. In a different bowl use a stand mixer or any electric mixer to cream together the butter and brown sugar. Add the egg and mix until just combined, don’t over mix. Slowly add part of the warm beer. Then add half of the dry ingredients. Add more of the beer, then flour mixture etc. until everything is combined. Pour 2/3 full into a cupcake pan with liners. Bake for about 16-18 minutes. Move to a cooling rack when done and let them cool completely.

Chocolate-Beer Cupcakes

For the filling: (make while cupcakes cool)

-1/2 Cup heavy cream

-1/2 Cup IPA beer (or whatever beer you are using)

-1 egg

-1/3 Cup Brown sugar

-2 Tbsp + 2tsp flour

-1/4 tsp salt

-1 Tbsp butter

-1/2 tsp vanilla

Mix together the cream, beer, egg, brown sugar, flour and salt in a saucepan. Slowly bring to a boil while whisking constantly. After a few minutes the mixture will become thick and creamy. Remove from heat and add the butter and vanilla. Let this cool for just a few minutes. While the filling is cooling, core the cooled cupcakes. I used a cupcake corer, which made things SO easy! But you could use anything lying around like the end of a spoon to dig out a small section of the middle of the cupcake. Then pour the filling in until it reaches the top of the cupcake. I put the filling in a ziplock bag and piped it in so that I didn’t make a huge mess. Let the cupcakes cool completely before icing them.

 

For the icing:

-1 Cup butter at room temp.

-1 1/2 tsp vanilla

-2 Tbsp milk

-4-6 cups powdered sugar

Chocolate-Beer Cupcakes

 

Chocolate-Beer Cupcakes

Chocolate-Beer Cupcakes

Frost the cupcakes however you like! I topped them with a chocolate covered potato chip just using melted chocolate chips.

Have a fun Super Bowl!

Enjoy!

 

Chocolate-Beer Cupcakes

Whippersnappers

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

