Mommy & Baby Smoothie

Blueberry-Banana & Greens Smoothie

I am so excited!! As much as I looove making smoothies (and drinking them of course!), it can now go to an even greater use! My son loves them as well! He is 10 months old and completely eating solid table foods now versus baby purees. He is still a wonderful eater and eats a great variety of fruits and veggies along with some meats. However, some of the veggies he ate well as purees he is now turning his nose up at now that they are a different texture. So I thought that smoothies would be great since you can add a variety of foods and nutrients without tasting the greens or having the odd texture. So you can imagine my excitement when it turned out that he GULPED and I do mean gulped his smoothie down. I thought for sure he was going to get brain freeze but he couldn’t get enough of the stuff. Now my only hope is that he continues loving smoothies as he gets older because it is such a great lunch or snack, especially when making them yourself and having all of the fresh ingredients! I also love that I can make something that we can both have for lunch, it saves time!

Blueberry-Banana & Greens Smoothie

What I used:

 

Blueberry-Banana & Greens Smoothie

-Handful of ice

-1/2 Cup Blueberries

-2 Bananas

-Large handful of kale

-1/4 Cup Coconut water (or as needed for the consistency you want)

Blend well in the blender.

At this point I poured some of the smoothie into a cup to be a baby friendly smoothie and left the rest in the blender for myself. For The baby friendly smoothie I stirred in his favorite YoBaby whole milk baby yogurt and poured it into a bowl since he hasn’t really gotten the hang of using a straw.

To the rest of my own smoothie I added:

-1/2 to 3/4 cup vanilla greek yogurt

-1 Tbsp Flaxseed

Blend well.

Blueberry-Banana & Greens Smoothie

And there you have it! I’m so excited my little guy liked smoothies! Another tip is to alternate kale and spinach. It gives you more of a nutritional advantage than just using the same thing all of the time. There are many other things you can alternate in as well!

Enjoy!

 

Blueberry-Banana & Greens Smoothie

Whippersnappers

 

 

3 comments

Leave a Reply

