Asparagus-Yellow Squash Baby Food Puree

Asparagus-Yellow Squash

I just made this one the other day and my son loves it!

I’ve especially been switching things up when thinking of new veggies to cook for my son. Thankfully he is normally a wonderful eater but on the occasions where he does act a bit picky, it is usually with veggies. Most of the time I think that it is because of the texture since many of the veggies end up a bit grainy. So I’ve been trying new ones out to find what he likes best so that he still gets plenty of veggies. I am also a big fan of sneaking healthy veggies in. Many veggies or even some fruits that I prepare I like to add spinach or kale since it doesn’t have a lot of flavor but adds a lot of nutrients.

Asparagus-Yellow Squash

What I used:

-2 yellow squash

-1 whole bunch of asparagus

-water

 

Rinse both veggies well. Cut the ends off of the asparagus spears (not the heads but the other end) and cut into smaller chunks. Cut ends off of the squash as well and cut into smaller chunks. Steam both veggies for 15 minutes. If you decide not to steam, I suggest cooking the asparagus in a skillet with olive oil or coconut oil. The squash could also be prepared that way or by boiling. Steaming preserves the nutrients best.

Add everything to the blender and blend well. Add some water (you may have to do this a couple of times until you get the consistency you want) and blend again until smooth!

Asparagus-Yellow Squash

See?! So simple! Making homemade baby food does NOT have to be difficult. Plus you get to know exactly what is in the food that you are feeding your baby. Not to mention saving money!

 

 

Whippersnappers

Leave a Reply

