Chicken – Cheddar Broccoli Baby Food Puree

Chicken - Cheddar/Broccoli

It’s official…we are starting meats now!

My son had his 9 month appointment a couple of weeks ago and his pediatritian suggested to start him on meats now. I had been previously giving him little pieces here and there from my own plate at dinner but now he can have his own for a whole meal! This opens up a whole new world of possibilities with his homemade baby food so I was very excited! However, little road block…he doesn’t really like it pureed :/ I can tell it is definitely a texture thing. I will put it in his mouth and he immediately sticks out his tongue and lets it fall out. But it’s okay, we are working on it and hopefully he starts to like meats a bit more.

For his first meat meal I decided that chicken would be easiest and I wanted to add a veggie. Plus, it will be better flavors by adding a veggie or something else instead of trying to give them just the meat plain. I decided on Chicken – cheddar/broccoli. Since I usually like to make his food in bulk and then freeze it, I wasn’t sure how good the cheese would be so I decided to just make the cheddar broccoli and then add some of the cheese when heating up his meal after thawing it. But if you are going to make it and give it to your baby fresh then you could just add the cheese at the same time.

Chicken - Cheddar/Broccoli

Chicken - Cheddar/Broccoli

How I made it:

-1 lb chicken

-1 small bushel of broccoli

-1 Tbsp cheddar cheese

-Breastmilk or water

 

Cut chicken in bite-sized pieces. You could also leave them not cut up to cook them but I cut them into pieces to ensure that they would be fully cooked and also figured it would be much easier to puree that way. Steam the chicken for 20-30 minutes. The chicken could also be cooked on the stovetop or baked in the oven. Remove the chicken and add to your blender and set aside. Steam broccoli for about 15 minutes. Towards the end add the cheese to melt it in. Like I previously said, if you are going to be making a whole batch and freezing it, you could simply melt the cheese in later when heating up a single meal. Add the cheese and broccoli to the blender as well and let it all cool a bit. Add a small amount of breastmilk or water. You may need to add more once you start blending if it is to dry or needs to smooth out. Blend well, and that’s it!

I actually thought that this smelled really good! I would eat it myself if, well you know…it wasn’t pureed!

This made about 5 – 4oz jars for me but varies depending on how much meat and broccoli you use.

 

 

Whippersnappers

Leave a Reply

